In your opinion, do Skyline and Graeter's live up to the hype?

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
17 people following
this question
Report

9 Answers

Harrison2342 Jan 15, 2014
Greaters is great skyline sucks
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
dannylanders Jan 05, 2013
Graeter's isn't super great but it is REALLY EXPENSIVE! Skyline is really good. I have only had it once and I have lived here for 10 years.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
bettinaramundo Dec 28, 2012
Some love it and some cannot stand it, but I LOVE Skyline. I worked there in high school and still go to the same Skyline in Anderson Township all of the time.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
LouiseK Nov 03, 2012
I'm all about the Graeter's. I would definitely drive those extra miles to get it, too. In addition to their decadent ice cream and sundaes (bittersweet chocolate sauce anyone?), they have wonderful sorbets. In Cincinnati, there is no better ice cream than Graeter's.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
Michael Sweeney PRO Jul 17, 2012
Without a doubt. Best Chili and Ice Cream around town!
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
rgraeter Jun 29, 2012
Hi erinleitner and SuzM - and thank you for the compliment!! Even as we grow, we still insist on using the french pot process which freezes ice cream in two gallon batches, which is why Graeter's can live up to the hype! And with the temps reaching triple digits this weekend, we are going to need it!

Richard Graeter
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
Natilady Jun 25, 2012
First of all I think you have to grow up in Cincinnati to have a true appreciation for Skyline. People who live elsewhere just don't get it. Empress and the others might be the same or better, but I think they've come to epitomize "Cincinnati Chili" because they have so many locations.

Graeter's Ice cream is good. I've eaten it all of my life, but if there's a UDF nearby and I'm in the mood for ice cream, I won't go any further trying to find a Graeter's.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
erinleitner Jun 25, 2012
Skyline will never impress anyone who comes from the South who has tasted the flavorful spicy chili that comes from that region of the country. My roots are southern so Skyline Chili comes off as flavorless and runny. That said I don't hate it, but it is hyped up too much. Skyline is defiantly a cultural taste, maybe if i was born here I would worship it more.

Greater's on the other hand lives up to everything they say about it. There is a reason why it ships all over the country and its not because its cheap. I even read a shout out in a James Patterson novel, a character hailed it as she was making her a bowel of it in her kitchen. So that right there says something. The Black Raspberry Chip is bliss on the tongue. MMMMMmmmm.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.
SuzM Jun 23, 2012
I think a taste for Skyline is a personal preference and some people are passionate about Skyline, some about Gold Star, and some about Dixie Chili, Empress Chili, or Camp Washington Chili. I am not a meat eater, so can't speak on the chili; however, I do like the black beans and rice at Skyline. I also like their black bean burrito. Gold Star, on the other hand, has vegetarian chili. I can get a vegetarian 3-way, which is a great indulgence on occasion.

Graeter's, however, definitely lives up to the hype. Their ice cream is about the best ever. The thing I love about their ice cream is that it is rich, smooth, and creamy from the French Pot process they use to make it. Also, the flavors that have chocolate chips actually contain monster chocolate chunks and what great chocolate it is.

While Cincinnati-style chili may be an acquired taste (some people never acquire it), who couldn't love Graeter's ice cream (not to mention their other delicious bakery items and candy.)
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of StreetAdvisor.

Your answer